Designing a Tech career road map

Technology has indeed taken over the world in more ways than we can even begin to imagine. The good thing however, is the fact that people are clinging daily to technology and what we call tech jobs. Technology encompasses technical and non-technical roles which are very lucrative, intuitive and inspiring to most people who know and are dedicated about their chosen paths. After going through the inspiring video by Yewande Odumosu on “how to design a tech career roadmap”, I am more than inclined to share these highlights:

Steps To Begin Your Career in Tech

  1. Ascertain your strengths and weaknesses.

  2. Make inquiries from people who you think understand and know you better.

  3. Explore your chosen course, find a mentor and try out different projects that can build and sharpen up your skills.

  4. Start applying for job opportunities.

  5. Never stop practicing and always believe in yourself.

How You Can Apply These Steps

The first thing I do before anything else in the beginning of a new day is PRAY! I cannot emphasize the effectiveness of prayer and how it helps shape my life. Don’t get me wrong, I am not a religious fanatic but a fervent believer of God. I am beginning my journey as a mobile developer after trying out front end development and I can boldly say that God helped me align this new career path. To me, you can apply the above steps by praying and maintaining consistency in practice. Do not forget to take breaks! Body no be firewood, they say.